keeping a diary (or let’s call it a notebook)

read a nice article about keeping a diary.

Got to know how to keep track of your life and improve everyday. Started writing a diary when I was in class 10 but left it because I hung on to what I wrote and elaborate it. Instead of time healing the mind, writing things down engraved my brain deeply with emotions that I felt. It was then difficult to move on. Which is actually not the purpose of keeping a diary.

What I learnt from this article:

  • write descriptions of people you observe, random observations (the signboard in a museum), facts you learn (the tons of soot that fell on New York in 1964), recipes etc.
  • it’s a record of “how it felt to be me” at a particular time. It’s a record of the people we used to be (as we are ever-evolving)
Leave a Reply

